Along N. 13th, Page 2 – Albright College

Along N. 13th, Page 2

Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4 | Page 5

Demand Grows for Albright SRI

In order to meet the demand of eager Berks County students and educators before extensive renovations are completed on the historic Camp Building, Albright College and the Science Research Institute (SRI) held a ribbon cutting for a new space at the corner of 11th and Rockland streets this fall. Community partners took part in tours of the new space and state-of-the-art research equipment with SRI students and facilitators.

“Ingenuit lives in these labs,” said Adelle Schade, SRI director and dean of pre-college and summer programs at Albright. “Berks County students and teachers are 3D bio-printing, testing water systems, creating carbon filters, producing music, designing in e-sports and games, dissecting the brains of fruit flies and producing large-scale art for this beautiful city.”

“Albright welcomed the Science Research Institute to campus immediately before a world-wide pandemic shut down much of the world,” said Albright alumnus and Board Chair Ronald Scheese ’83. “But even a global health crisis did not diminish demand for SRI’s innovative learning opportunities. In fact, it has done just the opposite — the program has continued to grow exponentially. We know, of course, that SRI at Albright will eventually be housed in the college’s large and historic Camp Building. But state-of-the-art renovations and related fundraising, especially to historic buildings, take time. And in the meantime, SRI is growing so fast that the need for this facility is absolutely immediate.”

2021 Alumni Association Awards

Six alumni accepted awards from the Albright College Alumni Association during an on-campus Homecoming Weekend ceremony last fall. Learn more about the awardees listed below at

Young Alumni Achievement Award: Josue Matos ’19
Presented to alumni (35 years of age or younger at nomination) for outstanding achievement in at least one of the following areas: profession or career, dedicated volunteer service to Albright College, church or community.

Mary Fry Good ’49 Service to Alma Mater Award: Leonard Buxton ’52
Presented to Albright alumni for outstanding service to their alma mater.

Distinguished Alumni Award: Steven Groff, M.D. ’87, Lindsay Phillips, Psy.D. ’00 and Cynthia Rothenberger, D.N.P. ’87
Presented to Albright alumni for outstanding service and accomplishments in at least one of the following areas: community, state, nation, church, profession, academic and/or service organizations.

Jacob Albright Award: David Martin, D.A. ’67
Presented to alumni who have used their liberal arts education to its greatest potential, thereby making outstanding contributions to the Albright College community, profession and in service to society. This is the highest honor bestowed upon a graduate.

Princeton Review Best College

Albright is one of only 223 schools to be named a Best College by the Princeton Review for 2022.

The Princeton Review uses data compiled from current students to recognize colleges that are “academically outstanding and well worth consideration in your college search.”

Students shared with the Princeton Review that Albright professors are “extremely passionate about what they teach,” and say that it is obvious that they truly “care about their students.” They also described the college’s student body as “welcoming,” “engaged” and “creative,” and coming from “all walks of life, all levels of economic status, and a variety of different political and social views.”

Four Lions Inducted into Athletics Hall of Fame

A 13-time Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) Championship gold medalist, a most outstanding MAC Championship swimmer, an All-American and a member of two undefeated football teams headline the Albright Hall of Fame Class of 2021. Albright enshrined Cindy Barner ’05, Eric Daney ’06, Nate Romig ’10, and Steve Simon ’64 (posthumously) into its Athletics Hall of Fame during a special reception and dinner in the Schumo Center last fall. Learn more about each awardee at