POP Leaders at Albright | Albright College

POP Leaders at Albright

 

What is a POP?

A POP is a Peer Orientation Person, tasked with guiding a group of First Year students through summer on-boarding, Welcome Weekend, and throughout their first year on campus.  Each FY student has 2 POP mentors that lead their group and are essential resources to help all students transition to Albright and find their home within our community.

 

Who leads the POPs?

All POPs are hired, trained, and guided by the Steering Committee which is made up of 8 Student Leaders, and the office of OSIL.  Meet this year’s 2021 SC…

Front row from Left to Right:

Alayna McCarty – New SC Member, Class of 2022, alayna.mccarty001@albright.edu

Allison Melahn – Returning SC Member, Class of 2022, allison.melahn001@albright.edu

Regina McCarter – New SC Member, Class of 2022, regina.mccarter001@albright.edu

Vanessa Baker – New SC Member, Class of 2022, vanessa.baker001@albright.edu

Back Row from from Left to Right

Olivia Frey – New SC Member, Class of 2022, olivia.frey001@albright.edu

Dylan Cope – Returning SC Member, Class of 2022, dylan.cope001@albright.edu

Brooke Schlott – New SC Member, Class of 2022, brooke.schlott001@albright.edu

Brandon Maroney – New SC Member, Class of 2022, brandon.maroney001@albright.edu

 

What is Expected of the POPs?

POPs are expected to participate in a Spring 2021 training event, virtually for the summer 2021 on-boarding days, August 2021 POP training days, and Welcome Weekend.  Their charge is to hone their mentorship skills to better assist all incoming students in their transition to Albright. POPs are expected to maintain their mentorship role throughout their mentees first full year.

 

2021 POPs Mandatory Dates

DateTimeEvent
February 1, 20219AMApplications Open
February 19, 20213PMApplications Due (no applications after 3PM will be accepted)
February 21, 202110AM – 3PMSelection Day – 2 sessions, must attend one
March 10, 20219AMDecision letters sent via email
March 15, 20213PMAcceptances/Declines due back to OSIL
Last 2 weeks in JunevariesAll POPS asked to participate virtually in one FY onboarding session with your POP group.
August 20218am-6pm dailyPOP training and Welcome weekend – Official dates still pending

 

Who can be a POP?

You can apply to be a POP if you are a rising Sophomore, Junior, or Senior in good judicial standing with the school, and with a minimum 2.5 GPA.

Applications are currently closed for the 2021-22 academic year.