Edward R. Gilbert award: Mike Miller – Albright College

Edward R. Gilbert award: Mike Miller

Prior to the start of the 2019-2020 academic year, Albright College celebrated its employees at an annual faculty and staff appreciation luncheon, which featured a presentation by President Jacquelyn S. Fetrow, Ph.D. ’82, recognition for employee years-of-service milestones, and the presentation of Edward R. Gilbert award.

The Edward R. Gilbert award is presented in honored memory of Edward R. Gilbert, Ph.D., professor of psychology (1958-2003). This award embodies the special qualities that Gilbert demonstrated to both students and colleagues over his nearly 50 years of service to Albright. These qualities include perseverance, respect, initiative, desire and enthusiasm.

This year, Catering Manager Mike Miller was named an Edward R. Gilbert award winner.

Mike was selected in recognition of his long and dedicated service to the college and support of its students, employees and guests. He honors Gilbert’s legacy of respect and perseverance by regularly going above and beyond in his culinary work. Mike’s infectious enthusiasm and clear commitment to service is evident at events of all sizes and is felt by students that he has also led in alternative spring break service trips.

Past recipients of the Edward R. Gilbert award include:

Sandy Stump (2007)

Dave Ballaban (2008)

Art Bromirski (2009)

Sally Stetler (2010)

Debra Baver (2011)

Freida Texter, Ph.D. (2012)

Margaret Upham (2013)

Collette Joyal (2014)

Jennifer Stoudt (2015)

Doug Sutliff (2016)

Cindy Becker (2017)

Richard Schott (2018)