Medieval & Renaissance Studies – Albright College

Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Investigate the history, literature, religion, philosophy and arts of the Middle Ages.

Albright College’s minor in Medieval and Renaissance Studies enables students to examine the Middle Ages and Renaissance from multiple disciplinary perspectives — gaining an “interdisciplinary” understanding of this important and vibrant period.

This minor is suitable for anyone interested in the Middle Ages and Renaissance and is especially beneficial to anyone considering graduate work in this area. Students will complete a substantial original research project.

For more information about this program, contact Professors Lawrence Morris or Patricia Turning.

medieval-renaissance-studies

Arcana Albright, Ph.D.
Professor of French
610-921-7694
aalbright@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Jennifer Koosed, Ph.D.
Professor of Religious Studies
610-921-7760
jkoosed@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Victor J. Forte, Ph.D.
Professor of Religious Studies
610-921-7731
vforte@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Midori E. Hartman Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Classical Studies
610-929-6620
mhartman@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Michelle McGowan, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Spanish

medieval-renaissance-studies

Andrew Mbuvi
Visiting NEH Chair in Religious Studies
ambuvi@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Guillaume de Syon, Ph.D.
Professor of History
610-921-7822
gdesyon@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Adam John, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of French and Spanish
610-921-7699
ajohn@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Lisa Bellantoni, Ph.D.
Department Chair; Associate Professor in Philosophy
610-921-7709
lbellantoni@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

John Pankratz, Ph.D.
Professor of History
610-921-7823
jpankratz@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Patricia Turning, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History; Chair of Department
610-921-6733
pturning@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Melissa Katz, M.A.
Senior Instructor of Spanish
610-921-7858
mkatz@albright.edu

medieval-renaissance-studies

Katherine L. Brown, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Spanish
kbrown@albright.edu

  • HIS 122 Medieval and Early Modern Civilization
  • One Literature in Original Language from
    • ENG352 Chaucer
    • ENG354 Shakespeare
    • ENG355 Tudor/Stuart
    • ENG356 Milton
    • LAT201 Intermediate Latin
    • FRE321 French Civilization and Culture
  • One Philosophy or Religious Studies course from
    • PHI210 Greek/Medieval
    • REL142 New Testament
    • REL251 Islam
    • REL253 History of Christianity to 1600
  • One Elective Course approved by the program coordinator
  • One Independent Study with a research paper or an approved module with a research paper in an upper-level course

Courses not listed above can be used with the approval of the program coordinator.