Crime and Justice | Albright College

Crime and Justice

The Political Science, Psychology and Sociology Departments offer a crime and justice interdisciplinary major, which focuses on the legal, political, administrative, psychological and sociological analysis of criminal deviance and societal responses to crime.

The courses provide students with a broad-based understanding of traditional and contemporary theoretical explanations of criminal behavior; the current patterns related to the incidence and prevalence of crime and victimization in contemporary society; the methodological and statistical techniques used to measure and analyze criminal deviance; the implications and ramifications of criminal deviance for society in general and for its individual members; and an understanding of the broader political, legal, and ethical contexts in which the criminal justice system operates.

Requirements:

  • SOC 101 Introduction to Sociology
    (fulfills General Studies Foundations Social Science requirement)
  • SOC 202 The Criminal Justice System
  • SOC 210 Research Methods
  • SOC 211 Statistics (fulfills General Studies Foundations Quantitative Reasoning requirement)
    • May take PSY 200 Research Methods I and PSY 201 Research Methods II in place of SOC 210 and 211
  • SOC 213 Social Theory
  • SOC 251 Crime and Deviance
  • Any two of the following:
    – SOC 253 Criminal Investigation and SOC 254 Advanced Criminal Investigation (must take both courses)
    – ANT 310 Crime, Culture and Conflict Resolution
    – SOC 302 Juvenile Delinquency
    – SOC 305 Terrorism
    – SOC 307 Organized Crime
    – SOC 309 Criminal Corrections
    – SOC 311 Domestic Violence
    – SOC 360 Crime & the Media
    – SOC 385 Violence & Victims
  • One of the following:
    – SOC 440 Ethnographics in Crime
    – SOC 450 White Collar Crime
    – SOC 460 Serial Murder
  • SOC 490 Senior Seminar
  • POL 101 American Government
  • POL 400-level Senior Seminar in Political Science
  • Two of the following:
    – POL 214 Public Policy
    – POL 216 Law & Society
    – POL 218 Public Administration
    – POL 231/331 Criminal Law
    – POL 310 Metropolitan Politics
  • PSY 100 General Psychology
  • Two of the following:
    – PSY 206 Social Psychology
    – PSY 230 Human Development
    – PSY 250 Theories of Personality
    – PSY 390 Adult Psychopathology and Behavior Disorders
    – PSY 391 Child Psychopathology and Behavior Disorders
  • POL 205 Comparative Politics or PSY 291 Cross Cultural Psychology of SOC262 Social Stratification

crime-and-justice

Charles Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology; Department Chair
610-921-7865
cbrown@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Gwendolyn Seidman, Ph.D.
Gwendolyn Seidman, Associate Professor of Psychology and Department Chair
610-929-6742
gseidman@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Justin J. Couchman, Ph.D.
Justin J. Couchman, Associate Professor of Psychology
610-929-6738
jcouchman@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Marsha Green, Ph.D.
Marsha Green, Professor of Psychology
610-921-7580
mgreen@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Bridget A. Hearon, Ph.D.
Bridget A. Hearon, Assistant Professor of Psychology
610-929-6556
bhearon@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Julia Heberle, Ph.D.
Julia Heberle, Associate Professor of Psychology
610-921-7581
jheberle@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Susan Hughes, Ph.D.
Susan Hughes, Professor of Psychology; Director of Evolutionary Studies Program
610-929-6732
shughes@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Brenda Ingram-Wallace, Ph.D.
Brenda Ingram-Wallace, Associate Professor of Psychology
610-921-7585
bingramwallace@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Michael A. Armato, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
610-929-6622
marmato@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Irene Langran, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
610-921-7570
ilangran@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Carla Abodalo, MS
Senior Instructor of Sociology
610-921-7592
cabodalo@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Brian Jennings, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
610-921-7892
bjennings@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Elizabeth Kiester, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Sociology
610-921-7885
ekiester@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Kennon Rice, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
610-921-7881
krice@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Barton Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
610-921-7593
bthompson@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Teri Jensen-Sellers, M.A.
Adjunct Lecturer in Sociology
610-929-6729
tjensen-sellers@albright.edu

crime-and-justice

Adrienne Lodge, M.S., C.F.E., C.A.M.S.
Adjunct Lecturer in Sociology-Criminal Justice
610-929-6768
alodge@albright.edu

What Can I do With a Major in Crime and Justice?