Child and Family Studies | Albright College

Child and Family Studies

Combine the study of child development with the dynamics of family living, through a major in Child and Family Studies at Albright College.

The psychosocial perspective of Albright’s Child and Family Studies program provides ideal academic preparation for students interested in working with children either in the context of education or human service.

child-family-studies

Charles Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology; Department Chair
610-921-7865
cbrown@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Gwendolyn Seidman, Ph.D.
Gwendolyn Seidman, Professor of Psychology and Department Chair
610-929-6742
gseidman@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Justin J. Couchman, Ph.D.
Justin J. Couchman, Associate Professor of Psychology
610-929-6738
jcouchman@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Marsha Green, Ph.D.
Marsha Green, Professor of Psychology
610-921-7580
mgreen@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Bridget A. Hearon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
610-929-6556
bhearon@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Julia Heberle, Ph.D.
Julia Heberle, Associate Professor of Psychology
610-921-7581
jheberle@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Susan Hughes, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology, Director of Evolutionary Studies Program
610-929-6732
shughes@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Brenda Ingram-Wallace, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
610-921-7585
bingramwallace@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Carla Abodalo, MS
Senior Instructor of Sociology
610-921-7592
cabodalo@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Brian Jennings, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
610-921-7892
bjennings@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Elizabeth Kiester, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
610-921-7885
ekiester@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Kennon Rice, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology and Director of Urban Affairs program
610-921-7881
krice@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Barton Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
610-921-7593
bthompson@albright.edu

child-family-studies

Adrienne Lodge, M.S., C.F.E., C.A.M.S.
Adjunct Lecturer in Sociology-Criminal Justice
610-929-6768
alodge@albright.edu

Full Course List for Child and Family Studies Major

  • Complete Core Research Methods and Statistics sequence and Senior Seminar (PSY200 or SOC211 fulfills GS quantitative requirement)
    • SOC 210 (Research Methods) & SOC211 (Statistics) & SOC490 (Senior Seminar) OR
    • PSY 200 (Research Design & Analysis I) & PSY201 (Research Design & Analysis II) & PSY405/406 (Senior Seminar)

Psychology Requirements

  • Core Psychology requirement:
    • PSY 100: Introductory Psychology
  • Developmental Psychology Requirement
    • PSY230 (Lifespan Development) or PSY240 (Child Development)
  • One from Group I (Social, Developmental, and Clinical Approaches):
    • PSY206: Social Psychology
    • PSY210: Health Psychology
    • PSY250: Personality
    • PSY390: Adult Psychopathology
    • PSY391: Child Psychopathology
  • One from Group II (Biological, Cognitive, and Evolutionary Approaches):
    • PSY 205: Biological Psychology
    • PSY 319: Evolutionary Psychology
    • PSY 340: Cognition
    • PSY 355: Motivation
  • One from Group III (Child-Focused Elective courses):
    • PSY345: Language Development
    • PSY346: Social Development
    • PSY347: Adolescent Development
  • Psychology Elective: Any additional psychology course not previously taken

 

Sociology Requirements

  • All of the following core requirements:
    • SOC 101: Intro
    • SOC 213: Social Theory
  • Additional specialized family course requirement:
    • SOC 261: The Family
  • One of the following lower level specialized courses:
    • SOC 203: Human Services
    • SOC 270:  Parenting and Technology
    • SOC 271:  Work & Family Conflict
  • Two of the following intermediate specialized courses:
    • SOC 302: Juvenile Delinquency
    • SOC 311: Domestic Violence
    • ANT 320: Sex, Gender, Culture
  • The following advanced application courses:
    • SOC 470: Immigration & Transnat’l Families

What Can I do With a Major in Child and Family Studies?