Transferring Credits


Liberal arts courses from an accredited college or university are eligible to transfer to Albright College. Non-liberal arts courses typically do not transfer.

Albright operates on a course unit system rather than semester hours. All Albright courses are considered equal to all others.

Three, four and five credit hour courses are considered equivalent to one Albright course unit. One and two credit hour courses do not transfer. Grades of C- or higher transfer to Albright.

You will receive an official transfer course evaluation with your acceptance letter to Albright.

Transfer Policies

Grades achieved at another institution by a student transferring to Albright do not count toward the cumulative average at Albright College. While the approved courses will count toward graduation, only the grades received while registered at Albright will determine the cumulative average. Transfer students must complete a minimum of 16 Albright courses to become an Albright graduate.

In general, students will receive credit for courses from accredited colleges or universities in which they earned a grade of C- or better and that are comparable to Albright's offerings.


Study at Other Institutions

Current Albright students can transfer courses to Albright only from accredited baccalaureate degree-granting institutions or branch campuses of baccalaureate degree-granting institutions. Any exceptions to this policy will be determined by the academic departments involved and the academic dean.

Only courses in which a student earns a grade of C- or better will be transferred to Albright. No more than four courses can be transferred. The grades earned in transfer courses will not be counted in the Albright grade point average.

Students must obtain preliminary approval to take a course at another academic institution from both the Registrar's Office and the chair of the academic department in which the course will be taken. Preliminary approval does not guarantee that transfer credit will be granted. Final approval for transfer credit will be granted only when Albright receives a syllabus for the course taken; an official transcript from the other institution; and when the student's request for transfer credit has been approved by both the chair of the Albright academic department and by the Registrar's Office.

Academic departments will use appropriate academic standards in the evaluation of transfer work. This may include, but is not limited to, the evaluation of a course syllabus, course materials, student work, and the administration of an examination by the department. If concentration or related course credits are involved, the recommendation of the concentration's department chair and the final approval of the academic dean are required.

Students transferring to Albright from other institutions are governed by the above regulations once they are degree students at Albright. Transfer students must complete at least 16 courses at Albright to earn an Albright degree and they may be required to complete more than 16 courses in order to fulfill specific general studies and/or area of concentration requirements.

Courses taken in study abroad or off-campus semester programs are treated as Albright courses for the 16 course requirement. (See "Off-Campus Study" for more information.)


Course Equivalency Guideswith Partnership Colleges

Albright is developing Course Equivalency Guides with our partnership colleges. We have completed about one-third of these Guides, and you may access them online through the links below:

The following are PDF files and require the free Acrobat Reader. Download it here.

Adult Students interested in applying or viewing transfer information for the Adult Accelerated Degree Completion Program, should click here.

Pennsylvania : New Jersey:
Bucks County Community College Raritan Valley Community College
Delaware County Community College Ocean County Community College
Harrisburg Area Community College (HACC)  
Lackawanna College
Lehigh Carbon Community College
Luzerne County Community College
Montgomery County Community College (MONTCO)
Northampton Community College
Reading Area Community College

top of page | back to Transfer page